Ruthie Ann Miles heads Broadway’s ‘The Little Prince’

Variety has learned exclusively that Alain Boublil and Claude-Michel Schonberg’s classic “The Little Prince” will set sail on Broadway. Playbill.com reports that casting is currently underway in a March 22, 2020, opening, and the…

Ruthie Ann Miles heads Broadway’s ‘The Little Prince’

Variety has learned exclusively that Alain Boublil and Claude-Michel Schonberg’s classic “The Little Prince” will set sail on Broadway.

Playbill.com reports that casting is currently underway in a March 22, 2020, opening, and the show will be staged by Bartlett Sher.

Related Coverage ‘The Little Prince’ Landed at the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts

Acrobatic performers have long been woven into the song-and-dance story. The new production will feature a team of 20 aerialists, acrobats and aerial dancers who will also provide the music. The story of “The Little Prince” is sung, while the acrobats are another element of the production.

Performances will be in the round with real scenery at the end of the wings.

Related Coverage ‘Hamilton’ and ‘Hamilton’s’ ‘The Last Call’ Also on New York Public Library’s Roster

“The Little Prince” began life in 1943, as a French radio play by Antoine de Saint-Exupery, and followed the French aviator in the years immediately following the Allied victory. Staged in the U.S. on Broadway, the show was immortalized on the Oscar-winning film by Francois Truffaut and directed by Francois Truffaut.

The play’s 13 songs, adapted for the stage by Boublil and Schonberg, include the timeless hits “Little Darling,” “Boule Coule” and “Non est une couleur,” as well as such deep cuts as “In Praise of Love” and “Le Petit Prince.”

Performances at the Eugene O’Neill Theater will be limited to 18 weeks (see a brief preview schedule below).

When/Where: Performances will be in the round with real scenery at the end of the wings. Capacity is 336, up to 5 times an evening with an average of 44 people in the audience.

Eugene O’Neill Theater, 121 East 45th Street, New York, NY 10019; 18 weeks (starting on March 22, 2020).

Preview Schedule:

Friday, August 18, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Saturday, August 19, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Monday, August 21, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Wednesday, August 23, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Thursday, August 24, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Saturday, August 26, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Monday, August 28, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Wednesday, August 30, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Friday, August 31, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Saturday, September 1, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Monday, September 3, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Wednesday, September 5, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Friday, September 7, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Monday, September 10, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Wednesday, September 12, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Thursday, September 13, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Saturday, September 15, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Monday, September 17, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Tuesday, September 18, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Wednesday, September 19, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Friday, September 21, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Saturday, September 22, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Monday, September 24, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Wednesday, September 26, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Thursday, September 27, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Friday, September 28, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Saturday, September 29, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Monday, October 1, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Wednesday, October 3, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Friday, October 5, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Saturday, October 6, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Monday, October 8, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Tuesday, October 9, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Wednesday, October 10, 2018 (with 7 pm preview only)

Thursday, October 11, 2018 (with

Leave a Comment